Get Help/Forum/Help From Site Leaders

Answered

I want to change the design I chose first for a porfolio one

mickygdelrio
asked this on March 20, 2011 13:04

When I first start   I chose a design that I dont want it any more How can I check all the others in moonfruit to change it

 

Comments

User photo
djpapa

Do you have a free site?  

March 20, 2011 13:16
User photo
Geoff
Moonfruit
Check Answer

Hi mickygdelrio,

To have a completely new template (design and pages) you would need to delete the current website via Admin->Delete site and start a new site, but you can change the individual elements manually.

To change the background template, go to Design->Background->New background->Library->All, then select the background you prefer. Click `Use this'.

You may need to reposition the menu in the Page Master, and move the items on the individual pages, to fit with the new template.

To change the menu, go to Design->Menu->New menu style->Library, then select the menu you prefer. Click `Use this'.

You can delete pages in Pages->Organise pages, then click on the dustbin beside the page to be removed.

You can add pages in Pages->Organise pages->Add a new page->Choose a page to add.

You can edit the page title in Pages->Organise pages, then edit the text in the appropriate window, and 'Apply'.

Kind regards

Geoff, the Support team

March 28, 2011 11:48
User photo
henningkoch1

Dear Geoff, I have the same question, but how do I get to Admin ->Delete?

 

Thanks and best regards

Henning

 

March 31, 2011 11:25
User photo
Geoff
Moonfruit

Hi Henning,

In the basic toolbar, you go to Edit->Manage your site->Delete this site.

Regards

Geoff

March 31, 2011 11:32
User photo
henningkoch1

Perfect, thanks very much!

March 31, 2011 11:35
User photo
malvyntv

Is there a way to keep the contents when you change the design 

April 09, 2011 06:22
User photo
Antoine
Moonfruit

Hi,

I'm not sure what you mean by that. Could you please explain?

If you change the design and want to keep the same text then all you need to do is make a back-up by copying it somewhere. And for the files, as long as they remain in your file manager you should be able to re-use them as much as you like.

Antoine

April 09, 2011 10:00
User photo
alivesinceforever

Hi. 

If I have a free website with my own domain name (purchased from Moonfruit) , but I want to change to a different template as the OP wanted to. If I delete the one I'm working on and build a new one, will I lose my domain name or can I simply add the domain to my new site?

June 08, 2011 03:48
User photo
Gary
Moonfruit
Check Answer

Hi,

You won't lose your domain name - you can just go to Admin -> Site address in the new site, and re-add it.

HTH,

Gary

June 08, 2011 10:00
User photo
megamovie

"Is there a way to keep the contents when you change the design"

 

"And for the files, as long as they remain in your file manager you should be able to re-use them as much as you like

Antoine"

 

They don't remain in our file manager.

How to fix this?

July 17, 2011 20:02
User photo
Geoff
Moonfruit

Hi megamovie,

If you delete a website, you lose the files in that site's File Manager. However, you can change the individual elements without deleting the whole site.

To change the background template, go to Design->Background->New background->Library->All, then select the background you prefer. Click `Use this'.

You may need to reposition the menu in the Page Master, and move the items on the individual pages, to fit with the new template.

To change the menu, go to Design->Menu->New menu style->Library, then select the menu you prefer. Click `Use this'.

You can delete pages in Pages->Organise pages, then click on the dustbin beside the page to be removed.

You can add pages in Pages->Organise pages->Add a new page->Choose a page to add.

You can edit the page title in Pages->Organise pages, then edit the text in the appropriate window, and 'Apply'.

Regards

Geoff, the Support team

July 17, 2011 21:31
User photo
nailselite

Hi.

I've been reading all of these comments, great help but I just want to make sure that if I deleted my current free site that I'm working on and create a new site (to change the template) when making a new account, would it say "this username has been taken" ? or would it just let me carry on as normal?

Thanks, Shakira.

August 02, 2011 20:13
User photo
Gary
Moonfruit

Hi Shakira,

If you delete the site on your account, only the site itself goes - you remain logged into the account itself, so there's nothing to worry about there. If you build a new site straight away, there's not even much chance of your chosen site address being re-used.

HTH,

Gary

August 03, 2011 10:26
User photo
kymilner

Is there any way I can lock my site whilst I redesign the layout?

Thanks

Kylee

September 01, 2011 15:36
User photo
Gary
Moonfruit

Hi Kylee,

You can 'lock' the site by restricting it to Site Admins only, through People -> Settings. Alternatively, you can place an Intro page at the front of the site.

HTH,

Gary

September 01, 2011 15:47
User photo
kymilner

Hi Gary, thanks....I have placed an intro page...but think I prefer the site admins only. Will have a look at this.

Hopefully it won't take me too long!

Kylee

September 01, 2011 15:52
Topic is closed for comments