Get Help/Forum/Get feedback on your site

Help with achieving results - Your input will be much appriciated.

rachypoo1
posted this on June 16, 2011 10:24

Hi,

About the site

www.croydeholidays.info We offer self catering holiday accommodation in North Devon, UK. We have been up and running for 4months now, and are seeing some good results with positioning with google. Title tags H1, H2 tags, Meta desc, META keywords all done. We have worked hard on original content that is SEO optimised (as best of our knowledge) Currently have 62 backlinks. (still working on increasing these)

What we want to achieve

Obviously we would love to be the top spot of google! But this is not going to happen over night and we know it takes a lot of time and effort to get there, But i have been at the same spot on google for over a month with the key words SELF CATERING CROYDE. No matter how many extra backlinks or optimising we seem to do nothing seems to change! This is frustrating....

 

What help we need

If you are able to answer any of the following that is helpful to us, dont feel it necessary to answer all of them! (we know there is a lot)

  • We could do with someone who can look at our website, Anyalise what they see and offer out side advice (No matter how brutal, As we know it will help us in the long run)
  • Are the "property pages" actually being read by google? We have SEOQuake and when run on these pages it identifys the descriptions from the main home page
  • When we run websitehub anayalis tool it identifys the images like this : communities/img/45759585.html ALL of the images on the website have got ALT text and is viewable to the user, Could this effect any possible rankings with google?
  • Following the trailing tag mentioned above the property pages website address also has a trailing tag ie: www.croydeholidays.info/properties/6767676767.html Would this effect ranking? Also obviously we are unable to say to cunstomers enter www.croydeholidays.info/properties as this potentially wont achieve anything, Is there a way to alter this trailing tag that looks awful?
  • we recently ran a check that came back and stated that we had a 404 error, The domain is with godaddy, we believe we have set up the correct forwarding or ip re-point - Can anyone shed any light on this problem?

 

Thats all for now, Any help would be very welcome

 

Comments

User photo
gingerbreadproductionsuk

I would also like to know about the trailing URLs. Is there any way of keeping it as "mydomain.com/text" instead of "mydomain.com/text/0000000000"?

June 16, 2011 15:37
User photo
rachypoo1

Hi, Gingerbreadpro - I recently found out that the trailing urls have to be this way at the moment. However we are able to privde customers with a mydomain.com/text which will still generate the same web address page.

 

Anyone got any thoughts on the rest of our website??

June 16, 2011 22:10
User photo
lydiafry

Hi there,

 

I have spent some time on your website and I have noticed some things that are for sure going to turn customers away.

 

Firstly the most important part the booking procces. Its not good at all, in fact I couldnt find out how to book. I went on Booking page and it said to fill out your booking form on the right or something like that, however i couldnt see any booking form.

 

Secondly you need to get  a better email, stop using @yahoo.com   it doesnt look proffesional.

 

THe home page is ok, however I dont like the purple bar at the bottom, it should be at the very bottom like on my website www.kidzworld-toys.co.uk  i have my main links all in the bottom bar. Similar to moonfruits website. The images down the side look good.

 

Your best page is the properties page! The worse is Booking, I would really focus on this, its a nessecary thing for a company of this nature. Perhaps dont rely on the contact us form that moonfruit supply you, use an external software, I currently use a shopping cart called mals ecomerce, it looks very professional, try it out on my website, you could make people choose the ammount of people, if they have dogs, what accoadation they want etc etc and then it will add the total together and they can checkout online by either typing in there card or using things like paypal or google checkout you decide what.

 

As for your domain issues saying 404, you would need to contact godaddy about this or moonfruit. I loaded the website fine if its customers you were concerned with recieving the 404 message?

 

Im sorry if I an being a bit harsh on you, but as you say its advice from a non biast potential customer point of view.

 

Here is my websites for some insperation if needed:

 

www.kidzworld-toys.co.uk 

www.curtaincreations.co.uk  (Very new, just started a new template with moonfruit, so its pretty empty)

 

both sites were made with moonfruit.com

 

Best of luck and feel free to message back.

 

- Elliott

Kidz World. 

 

 

June 19, 2011 18:23
User photo
lydiafry

Sorry Just found your online booking form, a tiny link though! Discard what i said about mals ecomerce, your form is fine although the banner at the bottom saying build your own form, doesnt look very good.

June 19, 2011 18:29
User photo
rachypoo1

Hi Elliotherman,

 

Thank you for your comments - You may believe they are "harsh" but i appriciates anyones honesty, and thats exactly what i am looking for. In business now matter how rubbish  someone believes a company appears the only way is to be told, If you dont get told how can you be able to put those things right!

 

Okay, regards to your feedback

You have mentioned the booking information isnt great, Is that the layout or something else? I have just changed the "booking form" tag to make it LARGER, does this help?

 

Regards to the @yahoo.co.uk this is something we are desperate to change, But are not really sure how to go about it, I know when registering a domain with moonfruit they offer a free enquires@croydeholidays.info email, But our domain is with godaddy at the moment (soon to be changed to moonfruit next month) Do you know how we can get around this for the meantime?

 

Purple bar on our homepage has now been relocated to the very bottom (To be honest i didnt realise it was that far up the page) I do like your base bar and has now got me thinking on improvements with the bar for the future.

 

The online booking form we have is currently a free subscription with the booking template people, To which we are currently testing its capabilities before paying for a subscription, So the banner saying "build your own form" will dissapear if it meets our needs. This system self calculates and includes add to basket extras to enhance a  holiday makers stay, It also caluclates the deposit required etc... So far tests are proving this is a very good system for us. So hopefully it shouldnt be long before we can remove the base banner from the free site!

 

Any how, If you wouldnt mind elaborating slightly on why you feel our booking page isnt up to scratch it would be greatly appriciated.

June 19, 2011 19:19
User photo
lydiafry
Hi I'll get back to you shortly, improvements sound good so far. Elliott
June 19, 2011 23:54
User photo
lydiafry

Hi there,

 

Sorry for the delay.

 

The banner looks better at the bottom. I think you should have a drop down menu appear under the booking button at the top of your pages.

 

So that it says Booking and as you hover over it with your mouse a drop down menu with Info on booking process and then another box saying begin booking. This will make it clearer, becuase at the moment when I click booking, i expect to be taken to your booking form, not details on your booking process. Just like your drop down menu for your About North Devon button.

Your header looks stretched to try and make it fit the screen, this does not look good.

 

Some tips on improving the booking Page:

 

* As stated above have the booking form as a seperate page in a drop down menu and have booking process details as a seperate page too.

* There is a lot of text on this page, try to condense it down. Or have seperate pages for each heading, for example you could have a small box like you do on your special offers page and have a small ammount of details in it, and then you could press click here for more details. and it will take you to a page where more information is available, if nessecary.

 

I like the boxs you have down the side at the moment it looks better.

 

One of the biggest turn offs immediatly was the over stretched image your using as your header. Its pretty ugly and it looks very proffesional as any online company would not have this poor quality image on their website.

 

I am really liking the properties page and the special offer page.

 

Hope all this helps you in improving your website.

 

- Elliott

Kidz World

 

www.kidzworld-toys.co.uk

June 22, 2011 18:06
User photo
lydiafry

sorry was suppose to write it looks very unproffesional, I orginially wrote proffesional.

June 22, 2011 18:08
User photo
rachypoo1

Hi Elliott

 

Thank you so much for the input you have given into improving our website, I really appriciate it. Sometimes when you see something every day you become used to it and dont notice its downfalls so thank you. Its nice to see someone looking at it with "FRESH EYES"

 

I have taken on board all of your comments, and i have been thinking of seperating the booking information - At the time we have a free moonfruit subscription so were trying to get as much information as possible on the limited pages we had. Now we have upgraded we now have a new direction to explore.... and can get these problems ironed out before we get too big.

 

Never took note of the photo at the top, Will deffinatly look into this to see what we can create to make it look more appealing and professional.

 

The banner at the bottom is still currently being worked on so hopefully will improve in time, We are currently working out a structure for a similar layout to your site banner.

 

Thank you very much, Got something to work on now :)

June 22, 2011 18:13
User photo
lydiafry

Your very welcome,

 

if you get a spare moment perhaps you could give me some things to work on with my site?

www.kidzworld-toys.co.uk

 

thanks :)

 

- Elliott

Kidz World

June 22, 2011 23:03
User photo
rachypoo1

Hi Elliot... Yes of course i will... I will try and do that today  - If not will be Sunday.

June 23, 2011 09:12
User photo
rachypoo1

Just had a brief quick look - On spares page - Nearly you have spelt as nearlly!

 

On some of your product pages the overview of the items - Some have been written in different text fonts... Which look a bit strange when browsing the entire website

June 23, 2011 09:20
User photo
rachypoo1

My personal thoughts are:

 

The home page looks really nice and professional, However the shop page doesnt seem to look inkeeping with the homepage ie: Nice frames around the photos may section and highlight the photos nicely, The fonts you have used are all mismatched throughout the site.

IE: on the homepage you have MINI QUAD BIKES at the top of the page - The fonts look smart and the photos look professional with a border around them. - Maybe implement this style into the shop page?

 

Some of the product pages seem a little cramped at the top of the page, Maybe spread this out down through the page to space it out a little. I LOVE the product facts at the side of the pages this looks really smart. A thought maybe to have a duplicate "product facts section" on the right hand side of the page with your product details? Then move the photo section to the base of the main product photo.As i found if i was searching through a site for what i would like to buy i have to constantly go up and down the page to read the important information regarding the product.

 

Love the Help section - Its very imformative and has been carefully planned - The video help is amazing and would be beneficial to your customers.I have however noticed that there doesnt seem to be your registered business address, I personally would prefer to have a business address incase my purchase went wrong and no one would answer the phone or email. It gives a customer a sense of securty that you are infact a trading business and not a scam artist.- Also from the aspect of someone wanting to return an item

Delivery policy - You have a weblink not active - and i think this is your original web address with Moonfruit url details before you purchased your domain. So this maybe different now and could be linked to your contact page

 

You may like to put somewhere that payments are secure and handled through paypal and google checkout, People are more wary now about secure payments online and fraudulent activity.

 

Hope this helps, Seems strange that we as business owners need an outside view on business protocol. Deffinatly is worth the effort though in building a site that is user friendly, professional and appealing to a potential customer.

 

 

June 23, 2011 13:56
User photo
lydiafry

Hi There,

 

Thanks for taking the time to look at our website, your comments are most appeciated and we will act on them.

 

I didnt understand what you were saying about the delivery policy link being inactive? Please would you explain further.

 

Thank you for your time, it is most appeciated.

 

- Elliott

 

Kidz world.

June 23, 2011 14:46
User photo
rachypoo1

Hi Elliott

 

Delivery policy page -

http://www.kidzworld-toys.co.uk/#/returnsdelivery-policy/4542092580

 

"Kidz World Will do everything we can to try to get you a repair or replacment but cannot and will not guarantee a repair replacment or refund of any sort.

If you have any questions or concerns then please contact us via our support page.

http://kidzworld1.moonfruit.com/#/contact-usfaq/4541732564"

 

- Rachel

Croyde Holidays

June 23, 2011 14:50
User photo
lydiafry

Hi again,

 

I found out what you meant about the link being our old free moonfruit domain. This has now been updated, thank you for pointing that out, we are also going to review each page for any spelling errors as you kindly pointed out 'nearlly' in the spares section.

 

We are going to put details about our secure checkout system that we have with Mals Ecommerce and Paypal. If you ever sell products online and not a service you should look at mals ecomerce, its brilliant.

 

And Finally we will be replacing the mis matched font as suggested.

 

I hope my comments have been as helpful as your have been! If you ever want any further comments please feel free to email me business@kidzworld-toys.co.uk

 

Thank you for your help,

Elliott

Kidz World.

 

 

June 23, 2011 14:55
User photo
rachypoo1

Hi

 

Its cetainly been an insight - We are still working through the list of improvements you have kindly suggested to us, they have all been worth it. Its lovely to see the website now taking more of a structured approach and will hopefully keep it up as we continue to grow and expand.

 

Thanks Elliot - If you want further feedback in the future then you know where i am.

June 23, 2011 15:04
User photo
lydiafry

Just thought I would have a look back on your website - looking better :)

 

Whats this new website coming soon?

 

- Elliott

September 04, 2011 13:35
User photo
rachypoo1

Hi ya Elliott, Hows things? New website will hopefully be launched end of September - Taking a while to get everything in place. I have had a techie web designer create a complete content management system - which is being intergrated into the site i am creating.

Still a LOT of work to complete with the property pages (as still not happy with them) and the booking management system will be added on the 19th Sept - But here is what i have so far if you want to have a look (thoughts appriciated) http://client7.i-pro1.co.uk/

September 04, 2011 14:21
User photo
lydiafry

Hi Rachel,

 

The new website looks so much better! Im jealous :)

 

Improvement:

 

The pink and yellow banners at the top doesn't look very professional and when you hover over the text it turns white making it unreadable 

 

You have terms and conditions at the top of your website and at the bottom.

 

The bottom of your site where you have the pink strip running across looks a little bit messy. I think maybe the pink bar should be at the very bottom of the website (i.e. with no space under it)

 

I really like the new booking system although its a bit annoying that you have to ' enquire ' first. To be honest if i were to enquire about availability I would want to then go back and complete a form. I may as well just let you book it for me.

Is your booking management system going to allow you to enter the dates that are available and are not available thus not needing an inquiry form?

 

Are you building this website with moonfruit? Or iPro? 

Looks very good!

 

Business for me is going well, im just about to launch a new website which is to generate money via adverts placed on my website with Google Adsense, google puts the ads on my site and every click on those ads I get paid.

 

Looking good though - interested to know what website builder you are using.

 

- Elliott

Kidz World

September 04, 2011 15:06
User photo
lydiafry

Sorry I meant to write - 

 

I really like the new booking system although its a bit annoying that you have to ' enquire ' first. To be honest if i were to enquire about availability I *wouldnt* want to then go back and complete a form. I may as well just let you book it for me.

September 04, 2011 15:08
User photo
rachypoo1

Hi ya, Its slowly getting there, as i said soooo many things that still need sorting before launch date.

 

Improvement you mentioned:

The pink and yellow banners - This is a major problem as when viewed with IE and then firefox each give a different view - I can make one appear fine and then throws the other broswer out (so cant win!)

  terms and conditions at the top of your website and at the bottom - I dont want to be the type of business that "hides away T&C's hense why its linked twice)

The bottom of your site where you have the pink strip running across looks a little bit messy. I think maybe the pink bar should be at the very bottom of the website (i.e. with no space under it) - This is currently being worked on... The desinations need to be added and linked and a bunch of other bits still to be added and changed ( not finished)

I really like the new booking system although its a bit annoying that you have to ' enquire ' first. To be honest if i were to enquire about availability I would want to then go back and complete a form. I may as well just let you book it for me.

(This is NOT the booking system as yet - The new one hasnt been implemented and intergrated as it is still being built - So the meantime i have been working with the current built in facility - Which deffinatly lacks usability) - People can enquire and once enquired it automatically will fill in the booking sheet for if the customer wishes to book, so they will not have to enter the information twice - Or alternatively ring the office and we can do the booking over the phone with the prefilled details.

Is your booking management system going to allow you to enter the dates that are available and are not available thus not needing an inquiry form? - The search tool that is already on the website will allow the customer to search which properties are alvailable for the dates the customer requires or if they do a general enquiry the system will process which properties are available for those dates instead of the customer "working out" which ones are available by enquiring per property! :) If that makes any sense!

Are you building this website with moonfruit? Or iPro?  - Moonfruit cannot cope with the type of business i require to run through it, it has limited availability in regards to adding a database which will include searchability to be intergrated. So in order to grow the business i needed to do something that was going to make my life easier and visitors life easier.

 

Heard many things about adsense...good to get lots of click throughs and generate extra income!

September 04, 2011 15:20
User photo
madisonashley

I thought your site was great. I had no issues at all while I was on it. I do however wish you would tell me how you did the social bookmarking at the top that had the drop down menu. That would be great to use with a site I am making for someone. It looks professional. :)

January 15, 2013 17:14
User photo
rachypoo1

Dear MadisonAshley, 

 

Thank you for commenting, we no longer use Moonfruit so the website you see is from a provider called Ipro systems who specialize in self catering booking systems. We found as we were growing moonfruit's capabilities were not growing as fast as we needed them to, but was a fantastic starting base for the company itself. 

The bookmarking function is part of the Ipro social system and not something we personally added, But i am sure you can find many widgets online that you could use that would be of a similar smartness to your site you are making. Good luck. 

January 17, 2013 18:35